How much to clean cobble locking?

sherib

Someone called today offering to clean cobble locking at front of
house. €250 he said but suggested that might be negotiable. It
is filthy with moss in abundance between the cobbles. In spite of
using a power washer I haven't been able to clean it myself. It's
nearly six years old. He would also re-sand the area.

Has anyone any idea what would be a reasonable charge for this?
I'd be very greatful for advice ASAP. The cobble locked area at the
back is a larger area and there's a passage way also. No way would
I consider paying anything like €500 for this work but I don't know
how to calculate a reasonable price. I suppose it could take a
couple of hours. He's calling again tomorrow and I'm not good at
haggling. It really does need cleaning.

sherib

Hi Sherib,

Have you had a look at www.pavingexpert.com or Power Washers

Unfortunately with the move taking place at the moment we are experiencing teething problems and I cannot link to some of the key posts that I might have referred you to.

IMHO I would not be inclined to pay out that that type of money until I had spoken to some other contractors. We have a key post on Paving Contractors and I will endeavour resurrect the post this evening and you could possibly give them a call to see what they think about cleaning/spending that type of money.

I have seen posts here where others have recommended Jeyes Fluid for cleaning the mould off yourself.

Can you take his no. and tell him you will give him a call as you don't have the money at present. These guys always work on the 'put you under pressure' angle and then you possibly rush into something that you are not 100% happy about.

Hi Sherib,

I had a problem with Pattern Imprinted Concrete (PIC) ... this is Concrete with pattern applied to it to simulate cobbledock - it has gaps/recesses but it's not separate stones. In my case (as i've seen in many driveways) it is black