House purchase - How should I choose the area?

Techie

Hi All,

I am a Dublin resident currently living in city center in our own apartment, we have 2 kids aged 6 and 1 and we think we need a bigger house so started looking for houses around Dublin. I honestly don't know where to start with the house search as I am not familiar with any areas outside Dublin as we are very much used to the city living having work, school, creche within 1 km radius. Initially we were bit hesitant to move out of the city but then with 2 kids we think we definitely need a bigger place.

My main requirement is the house should be closer to public transport (preferably train but not mandatory though) and 30 mins max travel to the city as we both are working. 4+ beds, should be spacious 150 to 200 mt sq, a rear side garden etc. A creche and park near by for kids and good primary and secondary school options. I do drive but afraid of getting stuck in traffic during office hours so would prefer public transport to commute to office. Securing mortgage is not an issue for us and we could push up to 500K if the house ticks all the boxes. New build or old one doesn't matter. Looking at the new builds I feel the houses are not close to the public transport and at least 1 to 2 km away. Also I feel many of the new builds are not spacious enough, just my opinion.

Had mt first house viewing at Hollystown, Din't like the house and felt it's bit interior. Also bit noisy due to the planes take off often. Had my second house viewing at Ashbourne last week and I kind of liked the house and the surrounding environment, with children's playing on a big green field opposite to house, close to public transport (300 mts), good shopping streets, new school starting etc. Despite of the distance from city it looks to be easily reachable through Motorway. So having Ashbourne like area in mind, I would like to know other places which you might think will be suitable for me.