Help please! D8- Rough area?

B

bipvoid

Hi,

Im a female student currently looking a places to rent for the coming September.. I was hoping someone could help me work out if the areas where Im looking to rent in are rough, as I don't have a very good idea of the 'safe' and 'rough' areas in Dublin. Ive already looked at all the posts about Cork Street and Rialto on this forum, but if anybody could tell me if the specific streets Im going to list below are rough, that would be great. I would like somewhere where I don't feel unsafe walking around it at night ideally...

The first apartment Im looking at is just off Cork Street. Its on Donore Ave, which is right beside the St Teresa's Gardens area. I know that the gardens used to have a reputation for being rough (and maybe they still do) but also that they, and the whole of cork street I think, is going through some sort of regeneration project? The guy who is renting it currently told me the area was fine, but Id just like to see what other peoples views on it are...

The second place is in Rialto, and its on Thomas Court, just off Thomas Street. I have no idea what the street would be like, so any opinions would be great.

Im also looking at Drimnagh, and Ive heard that some areas of it are nice, but that some can be a bit rough.. I was looking at a place on Mourne Road, and again any opinion would be great.

Thanks everyone!

I would like somewhere where I don't feel unsafe walking around it at night ideally...

Unfortunately you will not find this in most parts of Dublin. You have to be vigilant everywhere you go and I suppose that goes for most of the country now.

The part of Dublin 8 you ask about is the South Inner city and it is for the most part rough. There is a lot of drug and alcohol abuse and some very tough residents. Having said that there are a lot of people who have moved to the area because of its close proximity to town.