Heating not working in house advice please

S

SNOWBALL

Just looking for some please, i have had problems with my heating for over a year.I have a potterton boiler house is 4 bed and around 8 years old.I have had a plumber out when the heat stops working he does his bit and it works again.it packed up last monday.he came out and said i needed a new boiler.He quoted me €2,500 to replace new boiler and flush out the system.Can anyone advise is this a reasonable price to pay?My other half is away with work and cant be contacted so need to amke a decision myself.

What's your impression of the guy - do you trust him? 8 years isn't a long time. What has your plumber said to date?

I'm no expert but it sounds unlikely to me that you would need a new boiler (e.g. ours is 25 years old, my parents 28...etc) just a thorough service maybe? or new pump?

What is/isn't happening when you have problems?

8 years is not much in the lifetime of a CH boiler. If a CH boiler is serviced
annually, it should go on for at least 20 years.

In terms of the quote of 2.5K, that is the amount that was quoted to me for a replacement gas CH boiler recently.

I would suggest you get a second opinion if possible before you commit to purchasing a new boiler.

Did the plumber give any reasons as to why the boiler has not lasted as long as it should?

I remember in the UK that a fair number of large new houses built in the nineties that friends owned had undersized boilers (for the size of the house) so the boilers wore out quickly.

hi

When it is working the radiators are never very warm, the plumber said we havd sludge and needed to get it cleaned.Regarding do i trust him well when it comes to certain jobs you can be ripped off.For instance i have a rented house in lucan got an attic with ensuite done with cert for €15,000.3 other guys quoted me €24,000 amd more so it is worth checking around.Im going to get a few quotes before i commit to anything.

hi snowball.