Health Insurance - maternity cover

sinbadsailor

I am looking to change health plans/insurers to get the best cover for my wife and newborn next year.

Can anyone recommend a good plan. I have looked at the various sites but the information seems to be copied with a few words changed and small differences in the figures. The price of no competition I suppose.

I would prefer a private route hospital wise, as as far as I can see, going public for having a baby, anything could happen.

Have you health insurance at the moment? For pregnancy, you have to have health insurance for 52 weeks before you are covered, I think this is before you have the baby, but you may want to check. I have gone semi-private and public, so far public is better.

I have a the VHI Company Plan for myself and my wife through my LTD company.
I am only beginning to look into the change, so just hoping for any words of wisdom
to speed things along. Being Health insurance, it's all about personal circustances I know

If you have already served waiting periods with one health insurer then you don't need to serve them for the same cover again with another. If you switch to a higher level of cover then there may be waiting periods for newly covered treatments/conditions etc.

We were covered by VHI for our semi-private birth a few years back and had no major problems. We had to pay for a scan/test outside of the normal semi-private cover ourselves and were liable for the normal (?) €500 fee that the Rotunda (and others) charge (although it remains in dispute over an invoicing issue/complaint and they have not followed up to collect it to date!). Remember that some, most or all unreimbursed expenses will qualify for MED1 tax relief.