Health cover : VHI-v-Quinn for maternity

A

adam_net

Hi All,
Long time reader - first time poster.
Myself and my partner planning our first baby. We are not married, he's on VHI plan B and Im on personal care.
I have a few questions im hoping you can help me out with.

I understand my personal care has very limited cover for maternity.
But, do I (female) get any benefits from my partners VHI plan B?

If I was to change my own cover, whats the best plan to go on to?

Should we as an unmarried couple take out a joint policy? Again - any recommendations on the best?

Thanks,
A

I'm a broker that deals with Hibernian/Aviva so don't just take my word for it, but I think that Hibernian have excellent maternity benefits (4D scanning, options for doula birthing partners, home help after you get home etc) If you're changing or upgrading you need to talk to the providers about waiting periods (you may have to serve a waiting period for your increased benefits), check out www.Hia.ie for an independent viewpoint or go through the 3 providers web sites. Best of luck with it all.

Thanks Jimbo, any info on my questions regarding my partners plan B ?

The benefits of Plan B are only available to those on Plan B, so you won't be able to avail of your partner's maternity benefits. Obviously, as he won't be the one giving birth, he can't avail of them either .

As for a joint policy, other than dealing with only half the paperwork, the only other advantage is that, depending on what plan you pick, your out-patient excess is lower than that of two single policies. For most people this isn't a benefit as they rarely reach the excess, and in your case you have a policy that has a very low out-patient excess. You might find the reduced paperwork beneficial though. You'll get one renewal pack every year and it's only one direct debit per month. You should still be able to have different plans, if you so wish.