Has anyone used the services of a debt advisor?

Brendan Burgess

Founder
I see ads for some companies claiming to be able to write down your debts by 75%

I have no direct experience of them. Has anyone else used them? Was you experience good or bad?

I don't know the significance of the 75% figure. Has it any basis in law?

Brendan

No haven't used them but had a "cold" call from a company via phone looking for me to deal with them. If I wanted to restructure mortgage they would do this on my behalf -charge for meeting me would have been E150 and then E150 if succuessful in restructure. I didn't take them up I told them I could restructure myself if need be.

Angela59

Where did they get your telephone number, do you mean they are just randomly telephoning people to get business?

I spoke to moneyvillage people had a meeting with them too.

they could help me with any ''unsecured'' debt or mortgage, to deal with unsecured debt they would ask in the area of e500-e600 and all they do is tell you to stop paying, then they will agree minimum amount repayable and restructure the unsecured debts to match into the affordable amount they propose you to repay monthly.
It's expensive service and many many of the dealings can be done with banks/bs/cu by their customers.

I decided not to go with them... decided to deal with creditors directly.

I've been dealing with one of these companies for a few years now, since recession took hold. So far I have not got a whiff of 75% being whipped off my debt but I have been told that all my creditors have agreed to the 'nominal' payments each month and that within five years my debts will be written off.

It all sounds too good to be true but I am a firm believer of having an intermediate involved while dealing with debt.

Wishes could you not have negotationed the debt repayment arrangements yourself.