Halifax payment allocation - CC

S

ssocks

Hi,

I currently have an AIB visa card but am thinking of switching over to Halifax CC and just have one question that someone here might be able to answer…. I noticed on the Halifax website one of the features of their card is:

“If you do not pay off your balance in full we allocate payments to balances with a 0% interest rate before balances with higher interest rates. See condition 2.4 of the terms and conditions for full details.”

I’m just wondering if anyone knows whether this is standard practice on an AIB visa card as well? Don’t want to switch if its going to end up costing me money in the long run!

Thanks

I’m just wondering if anyone knows whether this is standard practice on an AIB visa card as well? Don’t want to switch if its going to end up costing me money in the long run!

I'm no expert, but it seems to be standard practice for all 0% deals. How can it cost you money? If Halifax give you 0% on transfer and 0% on purchases, for 6 months, surely you're quids in? Because all of your transactions are at 0% for the initial period. After that if you do not clear your purchases each month, they will pay off your 0% stuff first.

Slim

Well reason I was talking about it 'costing' me money was say for example I pay off the balance I transfer by the end of the 6 months, but then say I make the below purchases and don't pay them off that month:

3rd oct 200
6 oct 600
etc

and in Nov if i make a purcahse and make a payment the payment I make will just go to paying off the Nov purchase so the interest is still being charged on the oldest items. Perhaps I am taking this up wrong and maybe not explaining it very well, but what I was then wondering was if with AIB would a payment I make go to paying off my oldest purchases first.