Grinds

Have a look at http://www.irish-grinds.com/.

From a quick inspection there seems to be a range of €20-30/hour.

Seems terribly cheap to me - I wouldn't want a plumber who could only command that price working on my house so I'm not sure I'd entrust my academic future likewise.

No, this would be the going rate.

I am a third-level economics lecturer, with 6 years teaching experience. I would have charged 40 euro last year for a 2-hr grind.

But I am aiming for 45-50 this summer for a 2-hr grind.

I know many teachers doing 2nd-level grinds at 28-30 per hour.

I guess that those charge the lower rates are probably not declaring this income for tax :mad:

Perhaps true, RainyDay.

However, you will be happy to know that due to a discussion with the Revenue on a different issue, I am now paying income tax on my tiny grinds income.

AND I still charge less than 25 an hour.

Protocol,

Sounds more like a charity operation at those rates.

Until teachers respect themselves a bit more - and by that I mean charge the sort of hourly rates for casual jobs that people with equivalent qualifications do - they'll never get the respect of the public (and consequent reward levels).

Oysterman, to tell you the truth, I love talking about and explaining economics, so I consider grinds as relatively easy work.

Also, I don't like being greedy, and do not agree with consultants, solicitors, floor fitters, etc. earning rates like 50 - 100 per hour.

Mind you, a Skoda garage charged me 78 for an hour's labour yesterday, so I am actually going to ask for 50 for a 2-hr grind tomorrow.

oysterman said:
Protocol,

Sounds more like a charity operation at those rates.

Until teachers respect themselves a bit more - and by that I mean charge the sort of hourly rates for casual jobs that people with equivalent qualifications do - they'll never get the respect of the public (and consequent reward levels).