given a house before my mum died

hippychic

This is my first time using this site so bare with me!!

My mum died in November 28th and signed over her house to My Brother sister and myself just before she died. She also wrote a living will that the rest of her estate be divided into equal shares.

Her solicitor asked for me to call to there office the other day to sign a form to register the house with the land registry in our names. They had told me that it could cost up to 2% of the value of the property. My brother and I want to sell the house asap and was wondering if you can start putting the house on the market, before it is registered to the land registery.

Also I dont have a mortgage so does this mean I am classed as a first time buyer?

Very confused about all of this,

Hippychic

First off, sorry about your mum.

Can't you just ignore the fact your mum signed the house to you all (as nothing has legally happened with land registry yet) and let the executor of the will just sell the house as part of the estate to be divided up with the rest of it. It would save the bother of registering a property in your three names only to go and sell it anyway. Or is the house explicitly excluded in the will?

I'm sure the solicitors on here will have some good advice anytime now.

You are still a first time buyer if you were living in the house. You may still be classed as a first time buyer if the property is simply sold and the assets divided. Ask your solicitor about that I think but revenue aren't so bad as to revoke first time buyer status as it could be very unfair (imagine 10 kids getting a small share in a house all losing FTB status!).

Many thanks for your reply,