FTB - Buy new or secondhand?

weallpartied

So I am a first time buyer, I'm mid 40s and single with no children and no plans for that to change. I work in IT, mostly remote working with some onsite travel around the country and has been that way well before covid

The debate I have been having with myself and friends is as follows

I have a budget of around 280k (mortgage approval 240k, savings 40k) and I qualify for the help to buy scheme. Some say I should avail of the free money and get a house outside of Dublin and then sell after 5 years if I wanted to move back into the city, for example I could buy a 3 bed semi detached outside Dublin comfortably.
Another school of thought is to buy an apartment in Dublin and stay there long term.

I am a city guy having lived in cities most of my life so I am not sure buying a place in tullamore or navan would really suit me, but then its hard to walk away from 25k in the form of the help to buy scheme, when I could sell up and move back to Dublin at a later stage.

I would appreciate the wisdom of the crowd for this :)

I was in a similar situation to you in the mid-2000s. In terms of financial matters, FTB incentives, Stamp Duty, I knew it all back then. Alas, I don’t know anything about these matters now.

What type of accommodation do you live in at present? House-share or on your tod? Apartment or house?

Apartment living wasn’t for me, so I ruled that out. As I had a reasonable active social life, and I worked in the suburbs, it made more sense for me to “buy inside the M50”, than outside. Obviously that limited options but I found an OK ex-council house.

Pre-pandemic, what was your social life like, and where was it. Where are your friends and family?

Personally I was always sceptical about the concept of the “starter home”, where you’d “trade up” in a few years because you’d the money to do so.
I was intent on getting the best house I could, to suit my current life, with the intention of staying there long term.