FORM 12 for Rental Income Return

geri

I'm filling in my first Form 12 this year for Rental Income. As I am a PAYE worker and my employer already takes care of BIK payments on VHI premiums, PRSA relief etc, is it still necessary for me to put all these details in the Form? As I have never had to do this before, and the only reason I am now filling in the form is for Rental Income, is it sufficient to just fill in this section? Any advice appreciated as always.

All that stuff normally goes into your standard tax return. Have you been supplied with one?

Hi,
I have never done a TAX return before as my this has always been done through payroll by my employer. I'm just not sure if I should put this info on the form 12 when my employer already takes care of this for me. The only reason I'm submitting the Form 12 this year is I started renting out a house last year, so was wondering if anyone knew if I should just put these details in, and leave out the VHI, and pension information.
Thanks.

If you leave out details of BIK & other income from your tax return, then you are breaking the law and could be prosecuted for (1) evading tax on this income; and (2) making a false tax returns. Unless you have a good knowledge of what's involved, and the implications attaching, you would be well advised to get professional assistance.

Yes you should include the VHI and pension. It should not result in additional liabilty as the BIK on the VHI has already been assessed through payroll

However you may be entitled to a credit (20% of the amount paid by your employer) if you have not made a claim to have your personal allowances reflect this already.
Tax relief is normally at source for individual VHI membership. But where you company pays the VHI, the individual must claim the tax credit from the tax authorities as the company pays the amount including tax.

Arch,
Thanks for your post. Sounds like good news.
Ubiquitious,