Florida to New York by car

• Thread starter krazyshopper
  • Start date
K

krazyshopper

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone has ever done this trip. Planning to go for ten days in September, but its my first time in America and I'm not sure if thats enough time.
Also does anyone have any suggestions on places to stop?

Thanks!

Wht go to the bother of driving when you can fly in under 2 hours for less than $100?

Hi, thanks for your reply. Thats a far point if we only wanted to see the two cities, but I was hoping to see as much of that part of the coast as possible in 10 days and a roadtrip seems like the best way to do it.

I read recently that the state of Texas is twice the size of Germany, so not having any experience of the States and its huge size I was hoping to get an idea about whether it was a realistic journey in ten days.

Have done a lot of driving in US but don't think Florida to New York in 10 days is a realistic one, very long journey and although you'll want to take in plenty of places you'll probably just end up spending your time on I95 interstate. I travelled from south florida (miami) by car to north florida (tallahassee) and that took 3 days, Florida is huge! You could easily spend 8+ hours a day simply driving. Instead decide on some places close together you might like to see - can recommend North Florida, through Mississippi and into New Orleans, or a trip further north New York, Boston, etc.
If you really want Florida, can't beat Florida Keys, drive from Fort Lauderdale/Miami down over the bridges and spending a few days in Miami and then in Key West - its fantastic.
August/September is Hurricane season in South Florida and it can be pretty bad. I'd err on the side of New York etc for that time of year.

I'd agree. Even at 10 days, you'd spend the bulk of your time on the highway. This is dull. Very dull.