Fitting Wooden Floors

MandaC

I have got a quote for fitting wood floors to my new hall and sittingroom with Canadia Wood Flooring solid oak. The contractor is suggesting glueing the wood floor directly to the concrete floor. Is this the best way to fit the floors? The quote I have been given seems to me to be very cheap, and I am wondering if this is the best way to fit the floors. From reading the other threads here, it would seem floating floor is the way to go.

Many thanks

I'm not an expert, but glueing wooden floors to the concrete seems a bit extreme to me. Never heard of that before (sounds a bit cowboyish to me). These days nothing should be glued to your concrete floor. Imagine trying to change the floor later on.

Instead a suitable subfloor should be used and you can optionally glue the boards to that. That would be floating, so I suspect you could remove it in sections.

Glueing solid wood floors is very common, the adhesive is expensive but it's common practice. You do have the problem if you want to take it up later but I'm sure you'll be putting the floor down for at least 10 years so....

The quote was for 42 sq yrds 18mm Canadia solid oak, including everything needed to put it down and also the door bars(wooden) and trim around the fireplace and also to remove the existing skirting boards and refit them, worked out at €2,100 all in.(€50 per yrd)

I saw the floors retail yesterday (in a different location for €31 per sq. yrd.) The floor he is quoting me for is 90mm, I saw a wider board(150mm) for approx. €6.00 per sq. yrd more, so I might ask if he can get this.

I was just worried when I heard glue onto concrete, but have asked a couple of people and does not seem to be abnormal. I wont be in any hurry to pull it up, so thats not going to be an issue for me. Maybe its not cheap, its just that I expected to pay more.

Now tiles.......thats a totally different issue!!!!!

Thanks