First time skier - where to go?

eiregal

I'm looking at going skiing for the first time at Christmas/New Year. I really haven't a clue about where to go etc. so am looking for some advice. Where would be recommended for complete beginners? I'd like somewhere with other activities available too, on the off chance that I wouldn't actually like skiing! Any ideas?

Christmas/New Year is very early in the ski season. Meaning that conditions can be quite unreliable. So if you defo want snow, you may have to goto high altitude resorts or leave it til later in the season. Val Thorens in France for example is high but expensive. Loads of threads on here if you use the search option. Also try www.skiclub.co.uk. They have every bit of info you could possibly need. And trust me, you'll love it! Best holiday you'll ever have. Do loads of bendy exercises before you go and strengthen those legs too. And be prepared to be exhaused at the end of every day. First week is haaaaard work!
Enjoy.

Arinsal in Andorra is a great place to learn. Lots of big wide easy slopes to learn on. As elefantfresh said, the first week is a killer! :) Be prepared to ache!! Just wear a t-shirt under your skiing jacket coz you'll be roasting with all the exertion.

Also, the first thing they should tell you is the handiest way to carry skis! I only learnt this on the last day of the first week we went skiing. Lock the skis together, put the ski poles together but in opposite directions so that the loops are at opposite ends. The just put the ends of the skis through the loops at both ends and you have a ready-made ski sling!! Best tip ever! :p

and when you see the junior school or even worse the toodler school go flying past you spraying you with snow, don't feel bad; they're just showing off!
most places will have beginners packages where you get hire, lessons and limited lift passes to most of the easy slopes, personally I prefer s/boarding but it's a personal choice really