First Time Buyers For House Deposit

SuperMario

Spouse’s/Partner's age: 27

Annual gross income from employment or profession: €24,000
Annual gross income of spouse: €28,000 - €30,000 (approx.)

We are both in full time positions.

Both sets of gross income should increase over the medium term. Mine should increase significantly, hopefully to €50,000 salary within 4 years. Partner should increase over time once she gets into a public school.

Monthly take-home pay: €1744 + €1979 + €583 = €4306

Note that I have a part time job that pays cash. There is an annual income of €7,000 per year (€583 per month)

Type of employment:

I recently joined the civil service. Taking a pay cut in order to do so. I used to work in IT but the job was extremely unsecure.

Partner is a teacher in a private school. Not the most secure position but hopefully will get a CID next September.

In general are you:
(a) spending more than you earn, or
(b) saving?

We are saving at a rate of approx. €3,000 per month.

Our savings/expenses for the past 12 weeks are:

Income Expenses Difference

Week 1 €3,569 €654 €2,915

Week 2 €260 €246 €14

Week 3 €1,179 €225 €954

Week 4 €170 €347 €-177

Week 5 €1,815 €225 €1,590

Week 6 €1,073 €366 €707

Week 7 €3,180 €565 €2,615

Week 8 €0 €667 €-667

Week 9 €2,463 €600 €1,863

Week 10 €170 €228 €-58

Week 11 €981 €238 €743

Week 12 €200 €190 €10

Total €15,060 €4,551 €10,509

Note we both live at home so pay no rent.

The majority of the expenses are: public transport/car, food and general living expenses.

The above expenses are slightly above normal because they include Christmas, a short holiday and car tax.

Savings and investments:

Savings of €57,000 – all held in online savings accounts. The interest rates are very poor. Yet we don’t want to invest this in a less secure option because we hope to use it as a deposit in late 2017.

Do you have a pension scheme? My public sector job has a full pension to which I pay into every month.