First time buyer with site but no PP-advice?

Highlander

I've been reading these forums with interest over the last few months and have found alot of helpful information, but now I come asking for specific advice or even some pointers on where to get started.

I am wondering whether I can/should be looking at buying/building a house or must/should I wait longer. My circumstances are as follows:

1) I'm 22 years and am currently living at home with my family.
2) I have just been made permanant in my job (I work as a engineer with an American Multinational) where I'm earning E24,000pa + 20% Shift Allowance + overtime. Average after tax earnings are approx 530 - 550 per week at the moment.
3) I have cash savings in the amount of approx E23,000. Shares valued at approx E8,000. And some long term savings bonds which will mature over the next 1 - 3 years valued at E8,000+.
4) I have a site, which is in my mothers name (I think), but it may be difficult to get planning permission on at the moment.

My question I guess is, if I go to the bank looking for a mortgage with these details will I be laughed out of the place? I don't intend to buy either today or tomorrow. It could be up to a year before I do, but I would be interested to know, based on the info above where you think I would stand.

Houses in the area obviously vary considerably in price but looking at some in the papers and on the net are turning up ones I'd be happy with in the 220k - 260k pricerange. If I was to build I'd say I'd get a decent house up for under the 130k price tag.

Also, do you think it would be a better idea for me to buy or to build on my own land?

Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

Highlander said:
2) I have just been made permanant in my job (I work as a engineer with an American Multinational) where I'm earning E24,000pa + 20% Shift Allowance + overtime. Average after tax earnings are approx 530 - 550 per week at the moment.