Fire safety?

Toby

Worried about house fire even more than usual after watching Tv programme last night. Whats everyones fire drill? How do you escape a fire if you have small children who can't climb out of windows etc - tie them to you somehow? Is having a smoke alarm in every room going to give you enough warning to get out the front door?

There are some useful tips [broken link removed] (see particularly the Escape Drill section).

[Edit: just noticed it doesn't cover your particular question. Ideally, I guess, one adult goes first and the other lowers/drops them down... presuming there is more than one adult there! :eek:]

X-Man said:
smoke alarms will save your life.

A working smoke alarm may save your life. I work in the industry so I'm very familiar with Fire Safety Certificates etc. We have two mains wired smoke alarms, an ABC powder extinguisher and a fire blanket in the kitchen. The most important thing for people to remember is not to lock themselves into their own homes- by that I mean that if you have a Munster Joinery type door be sure that the key to open it (from the inside) is located nearby! I don't know what the statistics are but most fires are very preventable; a lot of fires start as a result of the obvious dirty grill pan, unattended candles, poor wiring/ faulty electrical equipment and smouldering cigarettes.

Carpenter said: