Filing your own returns with CRO?

bigpaddy_irl

Hi Guys,
I currently have an IT business which is a limited company.
We use quickbooks in which I enter in all our sales and purchases. I also reconcile the accounts every month.
All our accountant does is logs into quickbooks and posts the vat with ros and does the year end.
We get charged nearly 5k per annum it seems for the privilage. I am thinking this is a bit over the top?
Is it a big job for me to post the VAT myself with ROS? I think he might be charging me €200-€500 everytime he does this. I have never done this before so is it difficult?
Is it possible to just have him do the year end or would he have to be more involved?
Its a small enough business, no employees with 100K turn over per annum.

Unless you have something very complicated going on 5k is way too much. You can do the VAT yourself.
Small non limited Accounts, company CT return, 6 VAT returns, P35, 2 Directors Form 11s and B1 CRO return you should be paying 1k - 2k per annum.

You are obviously using a qualified accountant.

As it's a small company, you do not need an audit.

A good bookkeeper or an unqualified accountant would do it for you for a lot less or show you how to do it.

I wonder if there is a particular service out there for businesses such as yours which show you how to do your own books and make your own returns with a bit of backup if you get stuck.

Brendan

What about your local Co. Enterprise Board they are very helpful to small businesses in doing their own accounts

Very strange to see a member of ICAI and experienced consumer advocate suggesting that a member of the public uses an unqualified (and by extension, unregulated) accountant rather than a qualified, regulated and insured alternative.