Executive pension: Ark or QL

ClubMan

I'm an IT contractor with my own company and executive pension...

I've always wondered about that term "executive pension". Does it actually mean anything (i.e. is such a pension fundamentally different to a normal personal pension plan/retirement annuity contract) or is it just marketing fluff?

I'm thinking however of changing to a QL pension which has no charges apart from the 1% mgt

QL also has a €3 fixed charge on monthly contributions. You'd need to work this out as a percentage of your monthly contribution (e.g. €100 per month = 3%) when comparing with other pension charges. There are that charge only 1% annual management fee and nothing else in case that's of any use. In general the lower the charges and the less "drag" on performance the better. Note that there are other charges that are subsumed/hidden within the fund and which are reflected in the day to day unit price - e.g. both index trackers and managed funds have to pay stamp duty on acquisitions and broker charges on acquisitions/disposals. I've heard it estimated that these can add c. 0.5% to the effective cost of an index tracker and 1.5% to the effective cost of an actively managed fund but I'm not sure how accurate this is and it's not like you can avoid these charges with any fund in any case... (hope I'm not obfuscating the issue here... :\ ).

I was going to pay an annual lump sum, avoiding the monthly charge. As for those hidden costs you mention, I'm sure Ark Life have them in spades :) . Thinking about it, I guess my main query is whether there is a drawback in stopping one pension and starting another, apart from the hassle of keeping track of both.

Hi folks,