Ethics - Inhouse Management Accountant

B

bagel01

I've already posted this on boards.ie but it was suggested I might get a better respone here so here's hoping......

I'm a CIMA qualified accountant who up to now has always worked for big companies/public sector. I've just started a new job and am two months into a job in the service industry working as a Financial Controller. A firm of external accountants does the year end audit.

I'm uncomfortable with the type of expenses the owner is getting reimbursed for as business expenses (most are very obviously personal and not business expenses). The owner's children are drawing a PAYE salary from the business all year around yet only work during the summer holidays. There are other things too but these are the two ongoing things I'm aware off.

I have an idea of how I'm going to approach this but am just wondering if anyone has any experience of this and could give me an idea of what you did/would do in this circumstance.

First off, welcome home to the land of saints and tribunals. Secondly, maybe tinker with a few details in your post to avoid making it too obvious who you are and the organisation you might be referring to.

1) I am not sure that there is a problem with the children being paid a salary? Check with your auditors if this is ok? It's up to the company decide how much to pay people. If they work for 3 months but get their pay over 12 months, there is no real problem with that as far as I know.

2) Raise the issue of personal expenses directly with the Managing Director. Tell him that the company would be very exposed if there was a Revenue audit. Tell him that it is your duty as the Financial Controller to point this out.

Ask him if the auditors have given their approval of this arrangement. If he says that they have, ask the auditors for a copy of the letter they sent him.

Send him an email with your concerns to protect yourself.