ETF Buy & Hold Strategy for 10k on Degiro - ideas

SClarke

Hi,

I'm looking to invest €10k in ETF's on Degiro and trying to decide on the best option/options for a buy and hold strategy of 10+ years. Looking for well diversified accumulating ETF's. I'm new to investing in ETF's so i'd be interested in getting people's opinion on best ETFs/ combination of ETF's for the buy & hold strategy - I'm looking at the following ones at present: SXR8 / IE00B5BMR087 on XET, CSPX / IE00B5BMR087 on EAM & IUSQ | IE00B6R52259 on XET.

Should I only be considering ETF's on EU stock exchanges/ euro currency? On degiro, beyond the share price and TER, what else should I be taking into account - volume - the higher the better? I'd appreciate any advice. By the way, I'm aware of the tax implications - deemed disposal - associated with this. Thanks in advance.

I've no idea whether investing in an ETF us suitable for you or not, or if you understand the implications from tax perspective. But assuming you do:

interested in getting people's opinion on best ETFs/ combination of ETF's for the buy & hold strategy
What exactly do you want to invest in? Set your objectives first, then look at the ETFs that meet that objective.

It's not clear if you're looking at choosing 1, 2 or more ETFs?

One of the ETFs you've listed is an S&P500 tracker. The other is an all world index. That all world index is 57% invested in US, the majority will be S&P500 so there'll be a lot of cross over.

What's your pension invested in? Do you want to double down by investing in the same assets outside your pension?

If for example you work for a large tech company, and have massive exposure to shares via with, you might want a non tech ETF. Or maybe you want to invest exclusively in technology stocks.

Decide on what you want to invest in first, and then choosing an ETF will be easier.