emigrating and debt

aksxgo

Hi all
Im new to this but i need a bit of advice.
im planning on moving to the uk next year i want to get into a university over there and for personal reasons it can not be done in ireland.
Im a single mother with 2 kids so ill need every penny that i earn.
At present i have a credit union loan that i pay and have up to date.
If i leave and find myself in a situation that i cant make my full repayments (which i will be sending weekly from uk)
will i get into trouble?

I have been advised to just leave the loan and that the credit union will just write it off after 2 years.
But i dont want to do that, as its morally wrong and also i will be returning to ireland to visit family etc.

I dont have a mortgage.
All i owe is the credit union €18000

Please advise me.
thanks

Yes. You will find yourself in trouble. Credit unions aren't too shy to appoint professionals to handle the matter.

All you owe is 18,000? That's a lot by any standards.

Your morals tell you its wrong but you've come to the internet hoping people will advise you otherwise? You sold out your morals fairly quickly there.

Thanks for your advice peteb. But if you read my thread again you will see that I don't want to do that and I'm just informing the other users of advice already giving to me.
I hope I haven't disappointed you by not lowering myself to your negative mind frame.
My morals are perfectly intact. Thank you very much

If you stop paying the Credit union they may just let it go or they may pursue you.

If they pursue you and take you to court and you accept that you owe they money (or the court finds that you do) the court will make a judgement order against you.

This will be based on what you can afford to pay weekly or monthly. These tend to be reasonable amounts.

This process will take about 18 months, I think, (I am not very up to date on the time scale at present).

So option 1 is do nothing until you get a court summons.