EHIC/Travel insurance

Itchy

Hi guys,Quick question, i'm over in France at the moment and I need to see a dentist (or a man with a bit of string and a heavy rock!!). Basically i'm a poor student with no cash so I need the smallest possible fee. Does anybody know if the fee with the EHIC card is lower than if I went in with my insurance. On the EHIC website it says I can claim back 70% of the fee's. If the charges are the same should I claim in the insurance or through the EHIC?Thanks...

I didn't think that the EHIC was like an insurance policy, where you pay out up front and claim the fee back. I thought that you just presented the EHIC card and got the service free of charge.

Itchy, as far as I understand it the EHIC card entitles you to the same treatment as a French person would receive i.e. they get 70% back (% is different depending on treatment). I am in France at the moment and haven't received my Carte Vitale yet (a card to prove I'm covered by social security) so I have to pay the full amount when I go to the doc (haven't been to dentist sorry), but claim back after visit (get 14 out of 20 euro back for each visit). Not sure if your EHIC will work like the Carte Vitale i.e. you only pay the balance.
You referred to your other "insurance" - what is that?

In France, you will need to prepay all the medical fees/drugs and afterwards you need to send the form that the doctor/dentist/pharmacist will give you for refund to the closed CPAM of your holiday stay which will organise the refund.
It takes quite a long time to get a refund, they are slow to deal withand you need to harass them quite a lot. Good luck

But you can be lucky and get a doctor/dentist who will not charge you anything, it happens to me when I was in my honeymoon in Martinique, the dentist having no clue how the card work he just made the emergency work without charging me anything