Earlswood Court - Telecommunications

brian1

I'm thinking of buying an apartment in the Earlswood Court development near Ashtown and I was wondering if anyone knows what the telecommunications infrastructure is like there?

What type of TV service (Sat, cable or MMDS) and supplied by who (NTL)?
Is Broadband available there (DSL, cable BB, etc)?

The reason I ask is that I work in IT and often work from home, so BB availability is very important to me. I've a colleague living in Royal Canal Bank, next to Earlswood and he can't get any BB, not good.

I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this sort of question.

BTW anyone have any opinions on the development and area?

Thanks

I live just up the road in (compas court south) royal canal park, its the same place but it does have different developers *i think*
The services in the area are dreadful
For starters, youre not allowed to attach any dishes and antenas to the outside of your apartment - meaning youre limited to cable tv and internet
Ripwave is not available in the area and irish broadband wont come down because they have been warned about attaching antenas to apartments
Eircom havent upgraded the exchange in the area so their BB package is out of the question
They dont have NTL either, its a basic package run by a crowd called cablewatch - very poor selection
Cablewatch also run the only 'broadband' pack thats available "at the moment"
Its a half a meg line for 40 euros a month,
max download speed i ever got out of it was 50kbps
dreadful

Hi,

I live in Earlswood in a 3 bed Duplex.

We had similar problems with the lack of options in terms of Telcommunications.

We ended up going for the SMART Package of TV, Phone and 2MB BB.
Its a little bit expensive @ approx 150 per month for all 3, and we have had problems with the TV but the BB is fine. I also work from home somedays without any BB problems.