Dublin Corporation threatening letter re: drains

J

Jim

Got a letter from DC about a combined drain yesterday. It states that my house and the one next door share a drain which is now blocked - it stresses that we are jointly responsible for clearing and having repairs carried out.

My major concern is that without putting to fine a point on it the house next door is totally neglected and the source of the problem lies there.

Even if I did pay for unblocking how can I stop my neighbour from continuing to do the same and once I have paid even once then I am accepting liability for future events regarding this drain.

Should I get legal advice or am I entitled to have an Environmental Officer visit the premises to view the state of the house next door when it will become self explanatory.

Any advice appreciated.
J.

common drains

Hi.

Im not a legal expert but I am in the same situation as yourself. My drain is shared with the house next door. This is very common apparently with dublin artisan houses where the main drain can be shared across 2 or more houses. The house next door belongs to an elderly man who's frequently in hospital and similiar to yourself I found out about my drain when it blocked and we needed to enter next door to clear it.

(Until this point I didnt know that I shared this drain, my surveyor didnt inform me of this and it was quite a shock).

Anyway, I dont know if this is any help to you, but I approached the son of the man next door and together we set up a legal agreement on the ownership and responsibility of the drain, protecting both of us if either choses to move. We have shared the cost of unblocking.

hope that is some help.
good luck
c.

Re: common drains

This is not just an issue with old houses - We have shared drains on our relatively new (10 years) estate in Dublin.

Re: common drains

As far as I know it is standard practice to join the drains from a number of houses before making one connection to the main drain.