Dublin city centre

Maybrick

Is Dublin city centre now considered a good location for one-bedroom apartments? I bought one two years ago and assumed that it would hold its value more than other properties. Was I wrong?

Alex

Hi Maybrick

Well two years ago or even ONE year ago I would've said any property in Dublin would make you money but unfortunately we all know that alot can happen in a year and I reckon 2009 won't be much better. I work in the property industry (commercial mainly) but would have my ear to the ground regarding residential. In the current credit crunch climate the banks are very reluctant to lend us money as we know, but unfortunately for you they are even more reluctant to lend money on one bed apartments or duplex units as they deem them a higher risk. I don't know what your situation is but if possible try and hold onto your place as long as you can or at least until there is light at the end of the tunnel regarding the banks. I am trying to move house at the moment to avail of the drop in prices but rather than sell my own house at a lower price I am re-mortgaging it to pull out the equity to put towards a new house and then renting it out. I am lucky that my rent per month will cover my new interest only mortgage so it works for me.

Sorry to be pessimistic but I don't think anyone (experts included) can predict what will happen in the future months, all I know is it doesn't look good. So sit tight if you can!!!

Thanks, I reckon you're right. My hope was that because commuting in and out of the cityis getting more and more difficult, city-centre apartments would become more desirable. But maybe I was too optimistic - looks like I'll be stuck here for a while yet.