Dual Public Private Pension: Encashment Option?

DualPublicPriva

I am 38 and working both in the HSE (salary 100k) and privately in my own new limited company (projected annual profit of 80k). I have been contributing to HSE superannuation pension since 2011, and I am planning on starting employer contributions for myself and my spouse (40k each per annum) next year into a private PRSA, via my limited company. The goal is to maximise employer pension contributions. I have never drawn a salary from the company, so I don't think salary sacrifice is an issue.

I have a few questions:
1. Am I eligible for encashment option of private PRSA at 60 due to dual public/private pension rule, as long as I stay in public service until 60?

2. Is there an unlimited amount of private pension you can encash at 60 to avoid breaching the SFT limit on HSE pension? I can't see any limit in Revenue guidance. Theoretically could you encash say 3-4 million private PRSA, and keep 2 million HSE pension? An unlimited private encashment option seems like a great way of possibly getting around the SFT limit, and putting all private income into a private PRSA.

3. Is the encashment tax rate 42%? Revenue guidance seems to indicate this (40% + 2% USC + 0% PRSI). This seems tax efficient compared to 52% income tax on salary or subsequent pension drawdown.

4. Can I also maximise pension contributions from my HSE salary, and put them into my private PRSA? If so, would this also be eligible for encashment as a private PRSA at 60?

Last edited:
Me thinks you are a bit confused. The current SFT limit of €2m is inclusive of all pension benefits - public and private. Based on your current HSE benefits (assuming full service) the capitalised value would be c€1.3m . Based on current numbers that leaves about €700k before exceeding the SFT.