Driving through floods - best way?

tallpaul

With all the rain overnight, I came across many flooded parts of the road on my way to work this morning. I was wondering to myself what is the best way to traverse the water: slow right down and creep through, as I saw some cars doing, or keep speed and barrell through??

Personally since I had nice new tyres, I generally went for the latter (except for one very deep one). Was I right??

Petrol or diesel car? Diesel engine is dangerous in floods and engine can be ruined. Even if you crawl through a flood and the car coming in opposite direction is flying through it the "waves" can cause trouble for you.

Generally speaking (but I am no expert) I would change down a gear to keep revs higher than normal and slowly travel through it. Some floods can have booby traps in the form of potholes.

Generally speaking (but I am no expert) I would change down a gear to keep revs higher than normal and slowly travel through it. Some floods can have booby traps in the form of potholes.

I would do the same.

yeah never barrel thru - even with a petrol engine this could write off an engine if water get into the air intake

Avoiding floods is the best option, if that cannot be done I would tend to choose a low gear (2nd/3rd) and go thru at a steady pace. also once out flood, test brakes ...

If you drive to fast you'll force water up into the engine bay. Which is exactly what you don't want to do. You want to drive slowly so the water rises as little as possible. Also keep to the high part of the road which is either straddling the centerline or its putting two wheels up on the pavement.

But consider is it worth chancing it, (if its deep) if it only takes 10mins to go around, vs a engine rebuild of 2k+