Driving test - nerves!

deedee80

Hi all, I have my driving test this wednesday in fonthill and had a pre-test on Sat. The instructor said that I should pass, that I am a good driver but that I have bad habits like all that i need to knock out of my system (which I have been working on since), and my nerves are affecting me. Even now I feel sick thinking about the test. Has anyone any advice on how to make myself a bit calmer, I know that I am a good driver but if this keeps up I will be in a heap on the day. I'm really stressing myself out also trying to learn all the different questions and scenarios they may be likely to ask me. Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated!

A few drops of Bachs Rescue Remedy helped me when I sat mine...

You'll find that when you start your test, there won't be any pressure.

I remember on my first test, I was very calm, I actually enjoyed it. I was convinced I was driving beautifully, and sure I would pass.
It was a beautiful day, and there was very little traffic on the road.
Then he told me I failed on about 10 things, 2 of them critical.

You got to be philosophical about it. Just say to yourself, if I do this test 10 times, then surely I will pass it, hopefully the first time, but if not, the second time, or third time.

If you fail, you learn a lot from the experience, and it's more likely you will pass the next time.

The pass rate is about 50%, so if it was a random event, there would be a 50% chance of failing it once, a 25% chance of failing it twice, a 12.5% chance of failing it three times, and a 6% chance of failing it four times.

If you take on a good attitude, you have nothing to worry about.

Thanks all.

Was considering the rescue remedy CMR but I think that might be more of a mental thing, and I'm not sure it would work for me. I'll prob buy some anyway though. Thanks all for your suggestions though. BTW anyone know the fonthill route well that can over any tips?

Last edited: