Do you use "Linked In"?(a business-oriented networking site)

colly

www.linkedin.com
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linked_in

How many of you guys use linkedin successfully for business? Have you paid for the upgraded account? How have you found it so far?

I have started using a little bit as I work in sales for a large IT company and it can be usefull for getting through to people in organisations that I want to talk to.

Any thoughts?

Re: Do you use "Linked In"?

How many of you guys use linkedin successfully for business? Have you paid for the upgraded account? How have you found it so far?
I have used it, but more just to have a look than anything else. Given my line of work it's not really all that prevelant/relevant... and would be of little use to me even if it was widely used.

I know of one user (family member based in the US) who has recieved multiple job offers and picked up a few new clients through it (IT based so far more relevant to them). Even for them, it was mostly just a way to get in touch with a few old college friends and ex work mates they'd lost touch with rather than a true networking tool.

Even for them, it was mostly just a way to get in touch with a few old college friends and ex work mates they'd lost touch with rather than a true networking tool.

What's a "true" networking tool?

What's a "true" networking tool?
Something which would be used
...for getting through to people in organisations that I want to talk to.
I'm not saying "Linked in" couldn't/isn't used for this, I just wanted to point out that this wasn't the main aim for the family member I mentioned.

To answer your original question, I don't use it, no.

I'm not saying "Linked in" couldn't/isn't used for this, I just wanted to point out that this wasn't the main aim for the family member I mentioned.