Do traffic signals not apply to cyclists?

FredBloggs

On my way home from work yesterday I came to a junction where the lights were green. I wanted to make a left hand turn but being a careful driver I slowed as I approached the lights. Just as well as a cyclist on the road I was turning onto came through the red lights at speed. If I hadn't slowed I would certainly have hit him. I hit the breaks but quickly began to edge out whereupon another cyclist came through the red lights - this one not as fast andhe was looking about for oncoming traffic. But the fact of the matter was he came through a red light. My question is (and I know all the difficulties for cyclists in the city with inconsiderate motorists opening doors etc etc) do the rules of the road not apply to cyclists? This isn't an isolated incident - I've seen it many times - and while they are obviously putting themselves in danger they are also endangering any pedestrians who may be crossing at lights.

Do traffic signals not apply to cyclists?

do the rules of the road not apply to cyclists?
Of course they do. As a (former for the past while) commuter and leisure cyclist the carefree/less attitude of many other cyclists to the rules of the road and traffic lights in particular always annoyed me too.

Don't get me started! Firstly, I think that anyone who cycles in Dublin traffic is pretty brave but the risks they take are unreal. Was driving into town one morning during peak time with a friend. We counted the number of cyclists we encountered along the way as far as was possible (about 3km journey). Of the high number we encountered that particular day just under half of them broke traffic rules. Cycling on the footpath, breaking red lights mostly.