Do i have to sell Inheritence?

A

Ace2u

Hi, my uncle left me some land or the proceeds of its sale in his will. Before he died he was going to sell it depending on planning permission being granted to the buyer. My question is, do i have to sell the land? The solicitor seemed to suggest i am duty bond to sell.

There are two issues here, duty bound and legally bound.

I am not a lawyer, but if your uncle signed a legally binding agreement to sell the land subject to planning being received, then you are legally obliged to sell the land.

If it is the same as a house purchase, unless you have a signed contract, you are not legally obliged to sell it.

If your uncle genuinely agreed to sell it at a fixed price, but had no legal agreement in place, then it is really your decision. The key question here is what would your uncle have done? If he would have sold it, then you should probably do so. Especially if the costs of planning were paid by the potential purchaser.

Brendan

There is not enough facts in this post. On the pretence that there was a purchaser waiting to purchase subject to planning permission and it is legally tied up, then yes you are legally obliged to sell. However if there are no ties to the land, and nothing in writing in relation to a sale and third party involvement, you should be able to do what you like.
Again I emphasise that the full facts are not displayed, but on the basis of my second point, I would question the solicitor and the stand that is been made.
In closing a Will in a document of Wishes, NOT a document of instructions.