Director or Equity stake

J.P.

Hi,

I have been helping out a small / medium sized privately owned company for the last two years with a number of managment / productivity issues, purely on a personal capacity ( I have known these people for many years). The company is family owned business & is in the manufactuirng sector with a T/O of €40M in 2008 and are on target for a €2M profit - this was not the case two years ago.

In my "day job", I currently work full time with a multinational company, also in the manufacturing sector. I have been with this company for 24 years (currently aged 50), my current job focuses mainly on gaining production efficiencies & I have had a lot of international experience in this area within my current job.

Now, I have been approached by the MD of the private company I have been helping out, who has offered my a very significant salary & conditions to join his company and also to become a director or alternatively accept an agreed share holding in the company. The basic package on offer is more than twice my current package - that bit is straight forward, but in relation to becoing a director in the company or taking a shareholding - I don't know how I should evaluate this option.

I have a number of issues re. which is the best option : Director or Share holding, but if I look at it just from two perspectives to start with : (a). Taxation and (b). Pension - what are the main differences / benefits between the two options ?

Becoming a director scares me somewhat & as I'am aware of the liabilities that come with such a position !

Is there a better option I could propose ? The whole offer is very attractive to me & may allow me retire before 65 ( I hope).

Very much appreciate your comments.

Regards,

J.P.

It sounds a bit odd that they would ask you to become a director or a shareholder, normally its become a director and heres a shareholding.