Director or Employee

States

I'm an IT contractor with my own limited company. Am I better of, for tax purposes being a director or an employee of my ltd company...or can I be both or does it make any difference?

You will be both. You will be a Director but you are also obliged to register yourself as an Employee and pay PAYE/PRSI as normal. So in effect, you will be paying yourself a salary from your own company's profits, rather than simply lodging cheques into your personal account.

If you set your company up in 2006 you need to make a From11 return by 31st Oct 07

For teh record - in my experience you're far better off going under an umbrella company as an IT contractor.

I was originally under an umbrella company - then i set up my own Ltd. company - now i'm switching back.
It was WAY too much hassle as my own company.
It was awful hassle in fact having to dela with all ur own taxes and vat and red tape in registering etc.

YOu'll actually save nothing either - i found the umbrella company far more 'accomodative' for handing in expenses.

YOu'll actually save nothing either - i found the umbrella company far more 'accomodative' for handing in expenses.

That's strange. I thought the conventional wisdom was that umbrella companies are less flexible in terms of expense deductions etc than a properly-run and well-advised owner-managed company.

Maybe in general they are.

All i can comment on is my own experience.

I suppose it depends on the accountant you have.

That's strange. I thought the conventional wisdom was that umbrella companies are less flexible in terms of expense deductions etc than a properly-run and well-advised owner-managed company.
Maybe it's a properly-run and well-advised umbrella company..

Maybe it's a properly-run and well-advised umbrella company..