Direct Labour Build - Electrician

Birroc

Hi,

We have done chasing on new build and the electrician is working away now. We're just looking for sockets, lights and phone connections. Is there anything 'extra' I should be asking him to do ? I am not very technical but what other 'electrics' do you find in a modern home ? I am not looking for anything 'lazy' like remote control light switches.

Hi,

We have done chasing on new build and the electrician is working away now. We're just looking for sockets, lights and phone connections. Is there anything 'extra' I should be asking him to do ? I am not very technical but what other 'electrics' do you find in a modern home ? I am not looking for anything 'lazy' like remote control light switches.

If you want to stay from the "intelligent home" type of house which I think is a bit of an overpriced fad you more or less have it.

A few TV points, a door bell, electric shower, cooker supply, outside lights and I would consider an outside W/P socket

Sockets everywhere, especially places like the hall and landing for hoovers and lamps, and on your counter top for plugging in sterilisers, tin openers, carving knives when needed. Pain to plugging in and out things.
You should also add a couple to the island unit if you have one in your kitchen.

We got a sensor light put in our stairs / landing area for saftey and it's actually worked out really good, no fumbling for light switches. I like those timer ones for bathrooms you see when abroad too. None of these are in the i-homes arena requiring cat-5 cable etc just fittings so not expensive really and shouldn't cost any more to install than a regular fitting.

Other than that you could go for 5amp sockets for lamps, tv points in all rooms esp if you are thinking of putting in plasma tv's over fireplaces or on walls - ensure wiring is done before your plastering is finished so you have the wires covered over. They are a messy job to hide afterwards.

Hth