DEGIRO no longer allowing to buy uk trusts

dave2015

Hi
I have tried to buy SMT and FCIT in particular and told that will only allow reduce my position, anyone aware of the context and if other brokers have followed suit?
Thanks

I've seen the same as you for these two trusts, it looks like some other trusts listed on LSE can be bought though (haven't executed a buy but do not get the same error message).

I'm not an expert, but reason is Brexit. My understanding is that they're considered complex instruments, and can't be marketed in the EU until an equivalence agreement is made.

Not sure it's quite as straightforward as that. On Degiro I can still buy
FGT, CTY, MYI and JGGI.
But I can't buy BNKR, MRC, FCIT, SMT, JEO, ATR, BGSC.
I did initially think Brexit, but shouldn't Brexit apply to all of them (Investment Trusts)?

Not sure it's quite as straightforward as that. On Degiro I can still buy
FGT, CTY, MYI and JGGI.
But I can't buy BNKR, MRC, FCIT, SMT, JEO, ATR, BGSC.
I did initially think Brexit, but shouldn't Brexit apply to all of them (Investment Trusts)?
Strange, let us know if you get to the bottom of it and get a response from Degiro.

I asked Degiro few weeks back - specifically about SMT and FCIT. Response was that they fall under PRIIPS and need a KID - which is being worked on.

I did try to draw attention to this exact issue in several posts but I kept getting shouted down.

naturally we have been working on solutions

As things stand today, a KID must be provided to retail investors in an investment trust.

The UK implemented the EU's PRIIPs Regulation back in 2018 and it was subsequently "onshored" so that it continues to apply as a matter of UK law post-Brexit.

So nothing has changed from a regulatory point of view.

Last July, the UK Treasury indicated that it intended to bring forward amendments to the onshored PRIIPs Regulation to improve the functioning of the PRIIPs regime in the UK