Definitions : CEO, MD, President, Chairman etc

Squonk

Hello, I'm toying with the idea of setting up a business. A point of curiosity to me is the title given to the 'owner' of the business. There seems to be a variety of titles that seem to be used interchangeably to me at least e.g CEO, MD etc. So, as a sole trader, what can I call myself and does it depend on the legal status of the business (e.g. a Ltd company etc). Thanks in advance.

As a sole trader you would be a Proprietor, where as with a limited company you would be a director, assuming you appoint yourself director. Therefor if as director you were the main director you would be the MD or managing director
Titles like CEO and chairman are lift for bigger companies where lines of division and rank are clearly visible.

I was in the same position myself a few months ago. I'm a sole trader whose business is consultancy. Proprietor felt more like a shop owner to me, which is fine if that is your business. If anybody asks, I say I'm the owner, but for official things such as business cards, I don't actually use a title, since none seem to suit. This may change as the size of your business increases of course.

Titles don't usually mean a whole lot and if you're acting as a sole trader it may be evident from your business card as it won't mention the word Limited. If you feel a title is needed and don't want to call yourself the proprietor you could use the word Manager - General Manager, Operations Manager, Sales Manager, Business Developement Manager or whatever. If you do establish a limited company you could call yourself the General Operations Director which you can shorten to GOD!!

In my opinion,

I think, A CEO is elected by a board of directors. [You may or may not be share holder]

MD: is broadly used for UK based limited companies. He role would be like any other director and a senior manager [he will be a share holder, may not be the one with majority of shares]