Defined Benefit Scheme - 18 years a member

kitty81

Hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to pensions & would love some input.

I joined the defined benefit scheme of my current employer 18 years ago, 9 years full time, remainder as a job sharer.

I am now considering a career change but would like to understand if there are any implications in leaving the scheme? I am 36 years old now & my company is a well known semi state organisation.

From my very limited knowledge, I understand I can leave the scheme but still receive a pension from it in years to come?

Can anyone give me any further info please?
Thanks in advance

Generally speaking if you leave service you get what’s called a “deferred benefit”. So you get a benefit payable from the normal pension age based on your years of service and your salary at date of leaving. So for example if you have the equivalent of 13.5 years service then you might get 13.5/60 x Pensionsble Salary as a deferred pension package from say age 65. The deferred benefit will generally be indexed from date of leaving to retirement.
The precise calculation will depend on the Scheme rules, but your HR people should be able to explain.

Thank you Conan. I really appreciate your reply.
By the sounds of it, the pension would be worth very little by the time I reach 60/65!

Not necessarily. Allowing for indexation the value will increase over time. And obviously the deferred pension will be in addition to any new pension funding you put in place in your new career.

Keep all your old P60's from your current job if not joining another pensionable scheme. Your highest 3 salary years over a 10 year period can be used to average out your actual earnings for tax purposes.

Thanks IsleofMan. I really wouldn't have known this at all so thank you for the tip!

If your new employer has a DB scheme, and you are entitled to join it, then you might be allowed transfer from the old one.