Decision about new stairs

mct1

My new sunroom extension again, I'm afraid (but we're getting there).

There will be stairs down from the sunroom to a large utility room beneath. The stairs bend with a landing half-way so you can't see right down. We thought we'd have a door at the bottom of the stairs to keep the heat upstairs (we don't intend to heat the utility room 'tho it will have
a rad but now realise the stairs would need to be "boxed in" from the stair up to ceiling level for the door to work.

I'm not good at visualising but I don't think this would look good at all even if it's only a utility room. Should we put a door in or leave the stairs open?

You're right - this won't look good. And the stairwell takes out a good part of the sunroom too. Is there any other way to access the utility room? Utility rooms generally work best as an extension of the kitchen, but it's hard to know from your description whether there's any other way to access this area.

You're right - this won't look good. And the stairwell takes out a good part of the sunroom too. Is there any other way to access the utility room? Utility rooms generally work best as an extension of the kitchen, but it's hard to know from your description whether there's any other way to access this area.

You're right the stairway does take up space but that's the only way down to the utility. Plus the sunroom's a reasonable size (6m x 3.7m) and it leads off the kitchen. I see you agree it won't look good.

If I were you I'd try and put the stairs externally outside the sunroom.
Even if it is internal, could you treat it the stairwell as an external space? i.e. plaster it with wood float plaster finish painted to match the exterior with an external grade sheathed wooden door?
I'd personally put the door at the bottom of the stairwell so you can see over the stairwell (if I understand what you are doing correctly).