Credit Union Mortgage

ash26

Hi,
I am wondering if anyone has drawn down a mortgage from the credit union?

We have recently sold and made a nice profit so looking to borrow €150k for a property worth €400k, I work in the public sector and partner is self employed, we have one car loan with €16k owning.

When my credit check was done it showed up an old credit union (different one) that was restructured due to redundancy, I paid it off in 2018 and I got a letter from them confirming this to go with mortgage application.

We got aip from the credit union and application is now gone for full approval, do you think we have a hope? It is the same under writing criteria as the bank?

What mortgage rate have you been quoted?
Which Credit Union?

I checked a few and where they show their mortgage rate, they are very high.

Garda 3.25%
Public Service 3.5%
Progressive 3.56%
Aviate 4%
St Canice's 3 years fixed 2.9% -

1650657845722.png

What mortgage rate have you been quoted?
Which Credit Union?

I checked a few and where they show their mortgage rate, they are very high.

Garda 3.25%
Public Service 3.5%
Progressive 3.56%
Aviate 4%
St Canice's 3 years fixed 2.9% -

View attachment 6205
Hi Brendan,

Thanks for your reply. It the 3.25% with the Garda credit union. I do have an application in with BOI also and it’s 2.9%.

Hi yes I got a mortgage from my local credit union. I bought a house in nov 2019. I am 50's so was looking for a mortgage until 65. I am civil service. The family home was repossessed by Bank of Scotland in 2013. My marriage broke up and I bought a small house. I had to raise 20%, which was 20,000 because of my bad credit record and i did that. My mortgage is 69,000 . The interest rate was higher in the credit union but no body else would touch me so I couldn't shop around. But I feel very lucky to have my own home today.