County Council dragging heels with House Purchase

LifeBegins

Hi,

I accepted an offer on a house from Donegal County council and went sale agreed at end of June 2019. This was a house I had previously rented out. Folio and required documentation such as NPPR clearance and Property Charge have all been sent to my solicitor.

From speaking to my solicitor’s office this morning, it transpires that they have had zero correspondence with the purchaser (Donegal Co Co) to date, despite follow up with letters.

Is this normal? I’ve made leeway to allow for annual leave etc during summer months, but would have expected to have had some move forward 2 months later.

I am new to this process, however am now becoming very concerned. Every month of delay is another month of mortgage payments on an empty property and another month I am stuck wanting to apply for a mortgage on a home of my own but being unable to do so until I am rid of this property.

Has anyone any experience or advice?

I take it they have no deposit paid or contract signed? If so they can walk away I think.

Correct in both respects @noproblem and this is my biggest source of anxiety right now. If they walk away it leaves me back to square 1 having to start the selling process all over again.

Who did the deal with the council and with who? If it was you, follow it up, if an estate agent get a name and follow that. Your answer is there.

@noproblem, thanks for your input. I have spoken to my solicitor again this evening. It seems that the issue is with the solicitor acting for the council as it is they who have not responded to letters, emails and phone calls from my solicitor.