Council Inspection on home for HAP tenant - small time landlord

NellS82

Hi, I'm new to AAM
hope someone can help
anyone experience of council inspection of HAP property in Dublin.
is it a frequent thing?
more than once per tenancy unusual?
am a landlord been given a report with a list of v small but could be expensive issues
- my position is I can't afford them
- they are wear and tear mainly like a discoloured wall , flaking paint etc
- the letter includes threats of enforcement and fines , even prison!
- the home is 100% safe nothing that is going to harm anyone - no damp nothing
- can I challenge the report?

The councils are trying to inspect every four years, but given you have been inspected they will probably follow up to ensure the items have been completed.

You can challenge that the inspector highlighted items that are not covered by current legislation. So if they have erred in law you will win your challenge. That is why there are so many enforcements, fines etc, they are just warning you about what is in the legislation. Because this is all laid down in law, it should be taken seriously.

I would not think the council would consider inability to pay an excuse for a substandard house for a HAP tenant.

thanks for the reply. It's not substandard though that's what is puzzling. It's a great house. Fitted all the health & safety things they wanted under the last inspection now they want what looks like wear and tear stuff done.
would they take me down a legal process over discoloured paint ?

thanks for the reply. It's not substandard though that's what is puzzling. It's a great house. Fitted all the health & safety things they wanted under the last inspection now they want what looks like wear and tear stuff done.
I had similar some years ago, I did some of the things that they asked, the ones I considered reasonable, and the cheap things, you can afford paint.