cost of putting in a new garden

rkks

Hi all,

I just got a quote from a gardener to completely redo my garden (18 feet by 28 feet approx.). Its a 2 year old garden (blank canvas) as left by builders, so has very poor quality grass. Problem of water clogging. Not levelled at all. high in the centre, don't know why, gosh!!!! He has quoted me 1600 euros. The breakdown is:
3 men: 600
Horticultural sand : 400 euros
Skip : 350 euros
Turf Cutter + Rotivator: 250

All for 1-2 days
He says trhe soil condition is very poor and builder has dumped in lot of rubbish.
Please guide me as to how much it should cost.
Also we are planning to put in (build ourselves) a garden shed and deck a small area (not in the grass area). Should we put these things first and then redo the lawn or vice versa?

Please advice as I am a complete novice.

Hi,

Unfortunately I can't comment on the prices quoted but I would definitely get the shed built and possibly decking done before getting the grass laid.

What is the quote for - to redo the lawn or more than that? If there's a drainage problem, I assume he's proposed doing something to improve the drainage? (Is that what the horticultural sand is for?)

Labour-wise, €600 for 3 men for 2 days (if that's what it is to take) seems cheap.

I would get quotes from a couple of other companies and also check on their references. That way you'll have a better feeling for what it "should" cost, I think.

Cliona