Cornmarket, AVCs and Salary Protection

B

BigDer

Hi everyone.
I am a 29 yo teacher in good health. Last year I took out salary protection with Cornmarket along with an AVC.

I have mortgage protection with Irish Life that will pay out if my fiancee or I die. I have health insurance with Hibernian Aviva on the Teacher's Plan.

Can anyone tell me if I am wasting my money? Do these things cancel each other out? Should I switch to other insurers etc... I know Cornmarket have been discussed before on this forum but that was a few years ago and I am not sure if the points made are still relevant.
Thanks!

Hi BigDer,

If you can afford them, all of the plans you have are of value. Here's a quick rundown of what each covers: -

• Salary protection: Pays you an income if you cannot work due to illness for an extended period.
  • AVC: Supplements your pension. This is the controversial one. Check what charges you are paying, i.e. how much of your contribution is actually getting to your fund. Also - investigate if your money might be better spent on Notional Service Purchase ("buying back years"). There are loas of threads on Askaboutmoney about this in the Public Sector Pensions forum.
  • Mortgage Protection life assurance - obligatory if you have a mortgage. Pays off the mortgage in the event of either death. Check online to see if you can get a better quote.
  • Health insurance - I presume this is health insurance of the "hospital fees" variety - this pays your hospital bills and other medical costs.
Regards, Liam

cheers. am after contacting LABrokers as they seem to be recommended on this site in relation to switching to a PRSA AVC. Do you think this is a good idea? thanks for your time

didnt Prime time investiagtes do a report on cornmarket last year or earlier this year and made some startling revealations. do some more researchfirst and dont take the advidce of the first person that comes along.