Converting an Apple MP4 to MP3?

Brendan Burgess

Founder
I downloaded a book from the iTunes store only to discover it's in M4B format.

I can listen to it on my pc, but I want to listen to it on my mp3 player.

There are loads of sites with free conversion software, but I don't know which to trust or whether they work or not.

1) Should I have been able to download it as MP3?
2) How do I know which site to trust?

It's my first time downloading a book and it's one hour and 15 minutes long. Can I break it into chapters?

Update January 2011 - using iTunes Version 10
I have found that you can change the setting on itunes to download stuff in mp3 format.

Edit
Preferences
General
Import settings (on the right hand side half way down the screen)

Change to MP3 encoder
ok

If you download it in "AAC" format by accident, you can right click on it and create MP3 version.

If you don't trust the websites or any of the converting software (stay away from the free stuff), there's a long winded but easy way around it.

First though, what MP3 player are you using? A simple firmware update might sort it out if it isn't playing.

This method has worked for me and as it's a small enough book, it shouldn't be too much of an issue. Use iTunes to burn the book as an audio cd (not a data cd, actual audio cd). I'm guessing at 1hr 15, it would just about fit on a single cd, if not it shouldn't be a panic as iTunes will automatically pause and ask you to insert another cd.

Once the cds are complete you can then import them into iTunes as you would a normal audio cd. Just make sure that in your settings under import, you have it selected to import as MP3. You can also set it to join together back into one track.

That's the easiest way around the problem. You can't insert chapters at that stage as it will treat it as a standard audio track.

If you have access to a linux machine you can do . .
ffmpeg -i <infile.m4b> -acodec libmp3lame -ar 22050 <outfile.mp3>