contributing more than limit for age-related AVC relief?

Ndiddy

Can you contribute more funds than the limit for age-related AVC tax relief?

If you are 41, and get tax relief on 25% AVC, what happens if you send a single lump sum contribution which is more than the relief?

Thanks

Declare the overpayment on your tax return and you can carry it forward for tax relief in future years where you're under the limit.

I'm not a tax expert. I have carried one forward and claimed it about 6 years later. I understand there is no time limit.

I have a concern that the rules could be changed in the future. So I'm hesitant about carrying forward a large amount.

So there is no limit to contributing more than the AVC relief limit?

i.e. If you just want to invest extra funds for the long term and not deal with 8 year deemed disposal, one can just add more then 25 % at age 41 to an existing work pension? Seeing as my work DC plan allows for early retirement withdrawals at age 50, it seems like a good way to invest more for the next 9 years? The extra amount might not get tax relief but would be in a protected account until withdrawal?

You can only take early retirement from an Occupational Pension Scheme if you are leaving the employment and severing all ties with the employer. Any AVCs must be withdrawn at the same time as your benefits from the main scheme and aggregated with the main scheme benefits. Only part of your overall fund can be withdrawn at retirement as a tax-free lump sum. The rest must be used to buy an annuity or invested in an A(M)RF. Any pension from the annuity or withdrawals from the A(M)RF will be assessed for Income Tax, USC etc.

You can only take early retirement from an Occupational Pension Scheme if you are leaving the employment and severing all ties with the employer