Clutch wear

When parked, put car in forth gear, foot on the break, release clutch slowly, if engine doesn't cut out then clutch is slipping.
Wear? Well from day one your clutch is wearing, until it starts slipping it isn't worn out!

Hi Pelagic, Tried out what you said and engine did cut out . I have what I been told is possibly clutch release bearing wear,the noise from which irritates me when the engine is idling. The garage consider it too much trouble to fix as the transmission? would have to be removed and they dont think the "ticking" is that bad.

I'm no mechanic but you are right in that the bearing is within the clutch assembly and the gearbox will need to be 'moved' to get at it.
Whether the noise is a sign of imminent failure would need expert professional advice.
Have a look at
for some insight into the mechanics of it all.

HTH

Hi, Thanks for reply. I know a Ford mechanic and hoping to get in touch with him for his opinion.

From what your complaint is it's not actual clutch wear it's a dry release bearing on the shaft.

Most hyd clutch's are designed to hide clutch wear so as you the driver gets the most out of the clutch.

If the ford you drive is a focus it has a release bearing and slave cylinder all in one. You might have to watch that one.

But drive the car till it stops if you want, your not going to do a whole lot of damage to parts your going to have to replace anyway. Just means when it goes you might have to wait to get it done as opposed to booking it in to get done.

Hi Mr2, Thanks for information. The car is a Ford Focus ghia and is under 12 months guarantee since Dec06 but garage wont entertain the job. The clutch seems fine and I can live with the tapping.

What kind of warning will I get when the bearing is about to collapse as I would rather get the job done before any breakdown?

It will get stiff or a vibration in the clutch pedel.