Closing Cavity and Quin Lites

M

Midgirl

Hi,

We are up to first floor with our build, using 100mm concrete block, 150mm pumped bead cavity, 150mm quinlite B5.

I am trying to work out what is the best way to close the cavity. Our builder has returned the quinlite block, with 10-15mm left to fill, he says with foam insulation. Our architect says a proprietary closer could be used. I also was in touch with the quin lite technical department, to ask their opinion, as they have a detail using 25mm quintherm to close the cavity along with returning the quin lite block. The technical guy in quin lite, seemed to think it was perfectly ok to just return the quin lite blocks, and said to use timber to close the cavity horizontaly. I was suprised by this, as I am just a newbie self builder who just has information on all this cavity insulation closer from the internet, but I would not have thought that timber would be used to close the cavity, and that you would need some insulation along with the quinlite block to close the cavity vertically.

basically what I would like to know, should we be closing the vertical cavity with at least 25mm insulation or is it ok to just leave about 10-15mm and use the foam ? They will be working on the upstairs windows by next week so want to have this sorted by then, so that it will only be the downstairs windows we will have to retro-fit the insulation if so needed.

Hope this makes sense, I am just new to this, and it is really important to me that we get this right, as we are spending so much on the quinlites, insulation etc,, that I dont want to end up losing the heat through poorly finished cavity closers.

Thanks for any help or advice, and I have searched the internet and various forums and am still unsure as to the best approach.

MidGirl

Hi MidGirl