Climbing Carrantuohill

JohnnyBoy

Hi there,
I've been entrusted with organising an "expedition" to climb Carrauntuohill at the end of June.However I don't even know where the breginning of the climb is.
Does anybody know where I could get relevant info re a day on Carrantuohill,eg where to start,easiest route(we're not climbers),duration etc?
Thanks

i assume u are carrying some supplies etc

as i live near carrantuohill and there is alot of time climbers going up not adaquetly prepared and getting lost and not bringing right clothing footwear supplies etc

An d check the weather before u start, Sometimes on a seemingly clear day there could be Fog on the mountains and it can result in people getting lost
is area normally where u'd start , also bring a fully charged phone too , if signal is avail if u run into difficulties u can call for help

if u are new to this , then maybe a quick email to who can give u the right info links and proper info , cause i'm a novice and have'nt climbed in years
They have section on their website about route descriptions and area etc

A good base for a climbing tour is the youth hostel on the northern slope of Macgillicuddy's Reeks or the parking lot about 1mi/1.5km from the hostel.

one way is via Hags glen via devils ladder
Dont let devils ladder area put u off thats cronins yard i think this is the area that mountain rescue team start from as well Allow 6 hours for the round trip.

Carrantuohill can also be climbed from the west, from Lough Acosse, a lake nesting in the foothills of the major mountain; this climb, too, should not be attempted by the inexperienced. This is coming from The climbers inn its a pub in the wilds of kerry my mothers place and is in Glencar
u would need a map as earlier posted listed

a person with very little experience of climbing it can take 4-4.5 hrs to climb
where as if u are more experienced it can be done in 2 -2.5 hrs